This marble clock belonged to Msgr. Louis François Richer-Laflèche (1818-1898), the 2nd bishop of the diocese of Trois-Rivières. This unique object probably comes from Italy, possibly purchased when Msgr. Laflèche took a trip to that country to attend the First Vatican Council, where the decree of papal infallibility, among other topics, was voted on in July 1870.

The bishop’s nephew, Canon Louis Laflèche, parish priest of Grand-Mère, had probably inherited it and given it to J. A. Roy around 1910. J. A. Roy, who lived in the United States, heard about the construction of a major factory in Grand-Mère. He acquired the first plot of land sold there by the Laurentide company.

J. A. Roy was therefore the very first inhabitant of this municipality.

This clock, on which a drawing of Millet’s Angelus can be observed in the centre of the dial, was donated to the museum in 1941 by Mr. Roy after he settled in Cap-de-la-Madeleine.

Donation from J. A. Roy
Musée Pierre-Boucher Collection
1978 159 M